mark 1 and the deity of christ…

The beginning of the gospel of Jesus Christ, the Son of God.

As it is written in the prophets,

“Behold, I send my messenger before your face,
who will prepare your way,
the voice of one crying in the wilderness:
‘Prepare the way of the Lord,
make his paths straight,'”

-Mark 1:1-2

I read this passage earlier, and I thought of a couple of things:

  1. This “gospel” is of Christ. Christ is the most important part of the gospel. Not our justification. Not our salvation. Not our faith. In John 1:29, John the Baptist doesn’t say “Behold, the sins of the world have been taken away by the Lamb of God.” He says, “Behold the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world.” Christ is what we are to behold. His saving work is certainly part of his greatness, but Christ is what is great, not our own benefit from Christ.
  2. Its pretty clear that Mark here understood that Christ was God incarnate. If you read the verses quoted there, in Malachi 3 God is saying that he will send someone before himself. And in Isaiah 40, its clear that “the Lord” was speaking not just of the merely human messiah, but of Jehovah. “Prepare the way of Jehovah.” Thats what John the Baptist was crying out in the wilderness. “Make a highway for him.” Jesus was more than a prophet more than a ‘son’ of God, he was the Son of God, the Lamb of God, the One and Only God. Behold, the Lamb of God.

There will probably be more from the gospel of mark in the near future.

One thought on “mark 1 and the deity of christ…

  1. yay. I love that we’re studying this together. I love your insight..I love that you challenge me and my faith, and keep me accountable. Most of all I love you..and what a blessing it is to call you my husband and leader.

Leave a Reply

