The Emergent Church and the Humanity of Christ

I just finished reading Why We’re not Emergent: By Two Guys that Should Be by Kevin DeYoung and Ted Kluck.  It really made me think about some of the things I have been reading lately.  In the midst of them refuting many of the questionable beliefs that the emergent guys have, I wish they would have at least taken a chapter to point out the good things that the emergent guys are talking about.  Also they should have been a little more clear that not all the emergent guys are heretics.  Because they aren’t.

At the end of the book, they point out that many reformed, traditional, non-emerging churches tend to be like Ephesus from Revelation 2.  The refuse to allow false-doctrine and heresy to come into their fellowship, yet they’ve lost their first love.  At the same time, many of the Emergent churches are more similar to Pergamum–they hold fast to Jesus, but have compromised with idolaters and the sexually immoral–or they’re like Thyatira–they are quick to love and to serve, but they tolerate what Jesus hates.

In other words, many traditional churches hate what Jesus hates but don’t love what Jesus loves.  At the same time, many Emergent churches love what Jesus loves but don’t hate what Jesus hates.

So I would recommend you give this book a read.

…………………………………………………….

In other news, I preached today and will preach again next week.

Leah and I have been listening to the staff training sessions on the Snowbird Wilderness Outfitters Podcast.  I decided that the two part session on the humanity and the deity of Christ was something that my church needs to hear.  So I ganked it.  Yeah, I’m a sermon stealer.  I think we all do it, though.  If someone else has already said something in a great way, why try to say it differently?  Anyway, listen to it, and tell me what you think.  What can I do better?  What did I do well on?  I’m still learning at this stuff.  We had really long music and a really long prayer, so I didn’t start preaching until 12.  Anyway, give it a whirl.

The Humanity of Christ

3 thoughts on “The Emergent Church and the Humanity of Christ

  1. maybe bry and i should read this book…

    we tend to err on opposite sides of this debate…i’m more of a “as long as you love what Jesus loves” kinda person and he’s more of a “as long as you hate what Jesus hates” kinda person. Of course, it’s a lot deeper than that and we always agree on the basics, it’s just where i tend to be overly lovely dovey, compassionate, and forgiving in too many situations, he can be too critical and condemning…Usually we have a good debate and balance each other out though…anyways maybe we should read that book…

  2. “In other words, many traditional churches hate what Jesus hates but don’t love what Jesus loves. At the same time, many Emergent churches love what Jesus loves but don’t hate what Jesus hates.”

    thats one stinking powerful quote

Leave a Reply

