The Shepherd and the Lamb

I am the good shepherd. I know my own and my own know me, just as the Father knows me and I know the Father; and I lay down my life for the sheep. And I have other sheep that are not of this fold. I must bring them also, and they will listen to my voice. So there will be one flock, one shepherd. -John 10:14-16

When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, then he will sit on his glorious throne. Before him will be gathered all the nations, and he will separate people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. And he will place the sheep on his right, but the goats on the left.  -Matthew 25:31-33

For thus says the Lord God: Behold, I, I myself will search for my sheep and will seek them out. As a shepherd seeks out his flock when he is among his sheep that have been scattered, so will I seek out my sheep, and I will rescue them from all places where they have been scattered on a day of clouds and thick darkness… I myself will be the shepherd of my sheep, and I myself will make them lie down, declares the Lord God I will seek the lost, and I will bring back the strayed, and I will bind up the injured, and I will strengthen the weak, and the fat and the strong I will destroy. I will feed them in justice.  As for you, my flock, thus says the Lord God: Behold, I judge between sheep and sheep, between rams and male goats. Ezekiel 34:11-12,15-17

Once again, Christ was not only aware but, though subtly, proclaimed his deity repeatedly.  Back in Ezekiel God declared that He was the Shepherd and that He would judge between sheep and the goats.  Along comes Jesus of Nazareth, a lowly carpenter, and he claims that He is the Shepherd and that He will judge between the sheep and the goats.  See the point?  Jesus was claiming not only to be the Messiah but to be the Word of God in the flesh.

Another thing that I just thought of… the Shepherd Himself became the Lamb that was slain so that the other sheep would hear the Shepherd’s voice.

2 thoughts on “The Shepherd and the Lamb

  1. I’ve been rolling around some similar thoughts in my head lately as I’ve begun to think about Advent in conjunction with grace and mercy.

    It really speaks to our condition as people and the absolute crazy love of God that nothing less than His fullness came to live among us to live, serve, die, and live once more.

  2. dude, jonathan edwards wrote this sermon called “the excellency of Christ” in which he talked about all the opposites that Jesus was and is – and how there is a deep beauty in those opposites…. He is the lion and the lamb. He is the sovereign and the servant…. and others. its really sweet.

Leave a Reply

