And God saw that this was good.

So, when I grow up, I want to be this guy, Jim Thompson.   But even more than that, (no offense, Jim), I want to be this guy, Andrew Lewis.  And they both have one of these Jewish Study Bibles.  It is the Jewish Bible with commentary from a Jewish perspective…

photo-30It is interesting to see the difference in understanding of various passages… thus far, if the commentator is to be believed, the jewish persepective on genesis 1 is based around a literary framework view and not a chronological framework.  In other words, the seven days are a literary device to describe the majesty and awesomeness of creation, not a historical device to describe a chronological sequence of events.  I am excited about this thing…

3 thoughts on “And God saw that this was good.

  1. Nice, dude! It looks like you’re using the book to fend off evil spirits.

    It’s a really great book. I use it for my Prophets class. I especially appreciate reading non-Messianic interpretations of obviously Messianic texts.

    I also found their take on Genesis 1 rather interesting, especially since I still have so many questions about that text.

    I’d love to have a Creation discussion with you sometime, to hear what you’ve been learning about it.

  2. I don’t have that one, but I have the Complete Jewish Bible and the Jewish New Testament commentary by David H. Stern. Might have to check this one out.

Leave a Reply

