Derek Webb’s New Album…

So, lyrically, this album is amazing.  Musically, this album is amazing.  In other words, I like it.  A lot.

If you’ve followed Derek Webb at all, you’ll know that there was quite a bit of controversy about this new album… supposedly INO records refused to release it as it was, and Derek Webb refused to change it.  From everything that I can tell, Derek Webb and his people were, amazingly enough, able to turn the delay into an incredibly interesting scavenger hunt type thing, and those who followed all of the clues to the full extent were surprised with the chance to listen to the album for the first time in Derek’s studio at his home in Nashville, after the unveiling of the album the other night.

For people like me, it just served to make me anxious to know what the controversy was about, not to mention to get to listen to the new music.

Anyway, its out now, and you can download it at derekwebb.com for 8 bucks.  You should do it.

Once you listen to the CD, its not hard to figure out what the controversy is about.  The following song, of which I posted the lyrics, is clearly the source of the controversy.  I’ll post the lyrics and post a youtube video in which you can listen to the song, and then I’ll say a couple of things about it.

You say you always treat people like you like to be
I guess you love being hated for your sexuality
You love when people put words in your mouth
‘Bout what you believe, make you sound like a freak

‘Cause if you really believe what you say you believe
You wouldn’t be so damn reckless with the words you speak
Wouldn’t silently conceal when the liars speak
Denyin’ all the dyin’ of the remedy

Tell me, brother, what matters more to you?
Tell me, sister, what matters more to you?

If I can tell what’s in your heart by what comes out of your mouth
Then it sure looks to me like being straight is all it’s about
It looks like being hated for all the wrong things
Like chasin’ the wind while the pendulum swings

‘Cause we can talk and debate until we’re blue in the face
About the language and tradition that he’s comin’ to save
Meanwhile we sit just like we don’t give a shit
About 50,000 people who are dyin’ today

Tell me, brother, what matters more to you?
Tell me, sister, what matters more to you?


Clearly, the song is about homosexuality.  Certainly many people will be upset that he isn’t more clear about his actual stance on whether homosexual actions are sins or not.  But thats not the point.  The point is that American Christians spend much of their time combatting homosexuality, yet there are a lot of people lost, there are a lot of people dying.  And we apparently don’t give a shit, as he puts it.  No more commentary for now.

5 thoughts on “Derek Webb’s New Album…

  1. I have to confess that I haven’t listened to the album yet. (We just downloaded it and synced it to the ipod, Elise has listened to a bit.) I agree with the premise of the song and I think his strong stance is appropriate considering the vehement and aggressive stance most evangelicals take on homosexuality. I do, however, don’t like the unnecessary profanity. I know, I know… How traditional and narrow-minded (this is why you’re friends with me still right?) =) It seems that it shouldn’t be needed in a song where the lyrics convey the severity of his tone. I may change my mind after I’ve listened to the album several times.

    P.S. I’m sad that I won’t see you on Thursday. I hope you’re well. Also, sorry I never answer my phone. I’m trying to fix that problem. I miss you friend and I hope you’re well.

  2. Basically he is taking a message that Tony Compollo has had for a while and put it into lyrically form, it is a great song and great album.

  3. Yeah, I was going to point out exactly what Walter just pointed out… he was very much using the idea behind Campolo’s message that he began something like: “I want to say 3 things. First, 30,000 children died while you were sleeping last night of malnutrition. Second, you don’t give a shit. Third, most of you are more concerned about the fact that I just said shit than you are about the 30,000 kids who died of preventable causes.” Or something like that.

    The point is that Christians are preoccupied with this culture war against homosexuality, sex, drinking, smoking and cussing, and all that stuff while there are people out there who are lost and dying…

    Hence the question, what matters more, harshly condemning all types of sin or saving the dying–both spiritually and physically.

    We focus on the first, and rarely “give a shit” about the second. Thus, Derek, and, I think, Campolo, are starting a campaign called “Giveashit.org” or something like that… in other words, I don’t think that it is unnecessary…

  4. I can’t comment on the quality of the record yet because my download code is not working at the moment, but I am looking forward to it for all the same reason you were.

    You make some great points about what the song is trying to convey and the first thing I thought of was Tony Campolo too. I don’t agree with Derek on a number of things he has said recently, but we need more people saying those things at least to serve as a wake up call as to what is important.

    Also “giveashit.org” would be my homepage.

  5. I am a fan of Derek Webb, and always have been. However, the profanity was not necessary. He is a great songwriter and could have easily gotten his point across without using those words.

    I believe the problem that most evangelicals(not all) have is not homosexuals, but the homosexual agenda, which is to make it seem like a normal everyday lifestyle. The secular culture is trying to shove it down our throats and people are tired of it.

Leave a Reply

