Work, Work, Work…

Okay, so I’ve not lived up to my plan to post three times a week… but I have an excuse…  July 13-18 I was at SERVE 2009 in Swift Current, Saskatchewan.  Serve is the yearly summer missions camp for the Canadian Baptists of Western Canada.  It is similar to World Changers that the NAMB does, but there is only one per summer, because we are a much smaller denomination.  Anyway, it was a good trip, other than the flat tire on the way back.

Wednesday of last week I got to see my beautiful wife Leah for the first time in 3 and half weeks.  We will have been married for 3 years on October 6, 2009.  Marriage has been fun, hard, blissful, frustrating, rewarding, fulfilling, wonderful, difficult, but always good.  I love Leah more than any person in this world, but sometimes I don’t show her that.  I’ve made the mistake of not showing her how much I care about her.

Genesis 3:6 says, “So when the woman saw that the tree was good for food, and that it was a delight to the eyes, and that the tree was to be desired to make one wise, she took of its fruit and ate, and she also gave some to her husband who was with her, and he ate.”

So Eve had this big conversation with the serpent, in which the serpent was convincing her to do exactly what God said not to do.  Adam knew what was going on, he was watching it, but he didn’t say anything.  He just watched while his wife was being deceived, and then he sinned right along side of her.

I think this is the precursor to what husbands do all the time–we have a tendency to sit by silently with little concern about what is happening to our wives.  We’re more focused on football, video games, being a blog nerd, whatever.  Meanwhile, we ignore our wives’ spiritual, physical and emotional states.

That started creeping in.  Thankfully, my wife hasn’t been one to sit idly by while I sit idly by.  She encourages me and rebukes me and loves as much as I need it.

Leave a Reply

