Too Much Emphasis on Christ? 1

When I was in high school, I got into theology.  Not necessarily into actually knowing God but into knowing about God.  Thankfully, in spite of my stubborness, God got to know me and I him.  But my point is that I would constantly talk with people about Christianity, religion, theology, doctrine, etc… even if those people had no interest in talking about it.

Oftentimes the discussion would go in the direction of the charismatic gifts.  One of the things that I constantly heard at that time, and on into college, and even now, was, “Pentecostals and other charismatics overemphasize the Holy Spirit, true.  But some denominations overemphasize God the Father, and Baptists, especially, overemphasize Jesus.”  Or some other form of that argument.  (That the typical SBC church emphasizes on any member of the trinity is debatable).

But, the more I am becoming familiar with God’s word and with who Jesus is–his depth as the very fulness of God–I’m not sure if it is even possible to “overemphasize” on Jesus at all.

The whole of Scripture was about him (Luke 24:27).  The fullness of God dwells within him (Colossians 1:19).  God placed

2 thoughts on “Too Much Emphasis on Christ? 1

  1. he is before all things and in him all things hold together. he sustains all things by the word of his power. in him is life and that life is the light of men. he is alpha and omega, beginning and end. he is the word of God.

    i’d say you’re right. and thank God tis true.

Leave a Reply

