Presidential Fearmongering

Unless you’ve been living in a cave for the past week or two, you’ve no doubt heard about Obama’s upcoming speech.  There is an endless amount of debate about it going around so I thought I should add my two cents.  Now I love healthy debate.  I think it can be a great thing, but I don’t think that most of whats happening here is healthy debate… its fearmongering… There are a couple of things I want to say.

First, I think we are expecting a little more out of the nation’s school children than we should.  The thought seems to be that children are actually going to remember this speech and cling on to Obama and his policies because of it.  The funny thing is that many of the people who are making such a huge deal about it were exposed to a president’s speech when they were in school in the eighties.  How many of them remember it?  Not many.  How many of them became indoctrinated with conservative propaganda?  Well, it seems that maybe a couple did.  But that’s because Reagan actually presented policy not related to education in his speech, which is more than Obama is going to do.  The point is that older students are old enough to make up their mind and younger students don’t really care either way.  A few 5th or 6th graders will come out of this thinking, “Obama is so cool!” But it won’t last.  Which brings me to my next point.

Second, I doubt this freaking out is going to last long.  I told Leah that I was going to write a post about it, and she said something to the effect of “thats a little late, I thought that was a big deal LAST week.”  Of course I corrected her and said that people are STILL freaking out about it.  But she has a point.   I expect this to be all the rage in the news for a couple more days, but then they’ll go back to talking about Michael Jackson or Jon and Kate, and people will stop freaking out and FORGET ABOUT IT.  Why? Because its really not a big deal.  Not a big deal at all.  People will forget about it and start fearmongering about something else.

I’ve got more to say, but I’m tired of typing.

One thought on “Presidential Fearmongering

Leave a Reply

